Create and manage a Client Review

Client reviews can be created from any collection of versions by selecting the versions in the Versions Page, right-clicking, and choosing Add to client review > Create new.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_14.41.46.png

Once created, client reviews can be accessed via the list of Client reviews in the left-hand Project Navigation.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_14.44.12.png

The review can then be opened in two different ways.

  1. The first way is to simply hover over the review in the list and use the drop-down arrow to select Open.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_14.47.52.png

  1. The second way to open a review is to click on the review in the list, a preview of the review will appear, showing the review content, and also all the review settings in the right-hand menu.

    You can choose to change any of those settings, edit the content of the review, etc - or you can simply click the Open Session button in the upper right of the interface.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_14.50.55.png

Organizing your Client Reviews

An ongoing project can have upwards of 10 or even 100 reviews. To be able to organize your Client reviews more efficiently and to be able to find quickly the ones you are looking for, we’ve introduced drag-and-drop Folders.

  • To create one, first, go to a project where you would like to create a Folder. Click on the drop-down icon to open the menu and select Folder.

ft_st_folder_1.jpg

Give the folder a name, for example, Animation, and click Rename.

ft_st_usingclientreview6.png
 

And then just drag and drop a Client review into your new Folder.

ft_st_usingclientreview7.jpeg
 
Tip: You can also watch the process in this short video.

 

Inviting guests to Client Reviews

Guests can be invited to a review in the following ways:

Share review via link

  1. In the right-hand menu of an opened Review (as seen in the image above), click the "Share review via link" checkbox.
  2. This will open a link pop-down that you can copy by clicking the clone-icon.jpg icon, and paste to invitees as you see fit.

client-review-share-review-via-link.jpg

Share this Review

  1. In an open Review session, click on the Share this Review tab share-this-review-icon.jpg in the right-hand panel.

  2. Select + Collaborators -OR- share the link at the bottom with your guests.
    • The Share with a link toggle allows you to turn this feature on or off to your preferences.

share-review-panel.png

  1. If you click + Add Collaborators, the Share review dialog opens and you have the option to Share with a link, where you can copy the link and share as needed -OR- you can email invites directly to your guests. Email addresses must be separated by commas.

share-review-dialog.jpg

Passphrase

All invitees will get a secure link where they can access the content, but it is also possible to add an extra level of security by protecting your review session with a passphrase.

If you set a passphrase on your review, all invitees will be forced to fill in the passphrase in order to access the session.

You can adjust the passphrase settings either during the initial setup, or any time during the review in the Settings tab by switching the toggle on or off.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_15.43.14.png

After the Review

Feedback left by the collaborators on the content can be retrieved at any time by clicking Generate report at the bottom of the right pane.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_15.44.50.png

Comments and annotations as well as status changes are included in the report and can be opened as a PDF file via the Jobs menu in the top bar.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_15.46.00.png

Transferring feedback from a review session

When you’ve got feedback from your clients that you want to share with the team, you can transfer selected information from the review session to ftrack.

The Transfer feedback step is important, as it allows you to choose which feedback to include, and which to remove.

Sometimes feedback from a client might be unclear, or even unhelpful, and you may not want to send it all to your artists, so this step allows you to select only the feedback you need, or to add extra notes if required.

Navigate to your review session and click Transfer feedback to start configuring what information to transfer.

Selecting what to transfer

Next, you need to select what feedback to transfer.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_15.50.49.png

Select notes to transfer from the review session. All annotations will be transferred along with their corresponding notes.

Anything with a purple tick will be included in the transfer, but you can deselect any note or annotated frame.

If all the feedback is required for transfer, use the Select all checkbox.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_15.52.37.png

You can choose to transfer notes as completable by selecting the Transfer notes as completable checkbox.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_15.51.58.png

The Statuses can be updated on either Versions (default) or the related Task.

For that, go to the System settings > Review & player > Settings, to change what status to update.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_15.54.01.png

Setting selected items to Approved or Require changes

You can change the status of selected items based on the given invitee feedback.

If any feedback is Require changes, you can set all selected items to the selected status, and if all feedback on selected items is Approved, you can set all to the selected status.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_15.59.52.png

Transferring

Once you’re done, click Start transfer to the right, and ftrack will add notes and change statuses according to your configuration.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_16.01.44.png

Notes transferred from a review session will keep the original date and name of the author, and also be marked as a note originally from a review session.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_16.03.30.png

Notifications

When someone comments on a clip or changes the status in a review session, both e-mail and internal notifications will be triggered.

Email notifications are always sent to external collaborators, while internal ftrack users have the ability to decide if they want to receive them or not.

Deleting a session

To delete a review session, move your mouse over the review you would like to delete, in the Client reviews menu on the left sidebar. Click the small arrow that appears to the right of the name and select Delete.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_16.04.36.png

Cloning Review sessions

You can clone an existing client review session to create a new review session with the same description and collaborators.

To clone a review session, press the Clone session button in the top of the right pane, or by choosing the Clone menu option from the context menu in the project outliner.

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_16.054.36.jpg

Launching an Action

If you want to launch an external application from the review session management page or do something else programmatically with the review session, you can launch an action by clicking the Actions button to the right. 

Screenshot_2022-12-15_at_16.07.13.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Articles in this section

See more