This summary example is intended to give you a basic understanding of how task-work submission and the review workflow function. We will go into further detail in the articles following this section.
- A task is assigned - A team member (the assignee) is assigned a task for work to be completed.
- Work is completed - The assignee does the work and needs the output to be reviewed before they can carry on further.
Output is uploaded or published as a version - The assignee uploads or publishes the first media file demonstrating their work to their task. Version v1 is created.
- Time Saving Tip: When a version is created, it will take on the first status in the version Status list. If your "ready for review" status is the first status of the list, this eliminates the need for the assignee or project team to update it themselves.
- Reviewer or supervisor monitors for ready versions - The supervisor sees the ready version from the Versions page (or a custom view). They can then decide whether to view it on its own right away or add it to a list of versions contained in a list or Review to take a look at later.
- Review the version - The version is reviewed, and the supervisor decides more work is needed, leaving annotations and notes on the version for the assignee to address.
- Reviewer updates version status - The status of the version is updated by the supervisor or project team member to indicate to the assignee it is not approved, and work is still needed.
- Assignee reviews and addresses notes - The assignee reviews the notes from their inbox, email, or directly from the version's Sidebar > Notes tab and addresses them.
- Updated version uploaded or published by assignee - An updated version of the same filename is uploaded/published by the assignee, automatically creating version v2.
Repeat review cycle until work is approved - The work/review cycle carries on, and the version number automatically increases in sequential order with each submission until it has been approved. The version status is updated to its approved state to indicate this.
- Reminder: It is important the media filename being uploaded/published remain the same with each upload for sequential versioning to function as expected.
- Task is approved - Once the task output has been approved (as reflected by an approved version), the task status can be marked as completed or approved, depending on your workflow preferences.
- Optional: Publish final working file or local file path using Connect - Depending on your workflow, the assignee could publish the final working file or path associated with the final approved media so it can be passed on to the downstream team or referenced later as needed.
Your workflow may require changes to the above, but this is a great starting point to understand how your submission and approval process could work.